Quality Not Quantity: Monk Tamony - Post Death Soundtrack

Monk Tamony - Leaders.

Background promo - NYC indie duo, Monk Tamony, officially releases the next instalment off their forthcoming self-titled debut EP, Monk Tamony.

“Leaders” follows debut single, “Back Of The Building." Pancakes & Whiskey raved of “Back Of The Building," The track is rife with rolling guitar riffs and a solid back beat which gets our blood pumping for more from this new exciting duo.” Comprised of TJ Rosenthal (Vocals, Guitar) and Joe Zdaa (Drum, Vocals), the stellar, two-piece band produces super charged, hard-driving rock with unmistakable New York City attitude.

Zdaa and Rosenthal first met in 2002 at Dark Room, a discreetly hidden bar on Ludlow Street on Manhattan’s Lower East Side. “Joe was a bartender,” describes Rosenthal. “And I was a DJ and a regular patron. It was always a scene, and I’d go some nights just make sure I wasn’t missing anything.”

In the fall of 2015, Monk Tamony put the finishing touches on their debut EP. The dynamic duo has already garnered new fans along both coasts and while Zdaa and Rosenthal might call Monk Tamony a happy accident, it’s clear that they’re purposeful about their craft. Their EP is coming later this summer and will be available for purchase on vinyl.

“I can’t wait to see where the Monk Tamony story goes,” shares Rosenthal. “The fun part is not knowing. But, as long as we continue to make songs that mean something to us, we’ll continue to put them out there.”

With deep drums and a bass line that resonates 'Leaders' has a full on rock vibe throughout. There's a modern slant within the track, accompanied by a striking classic riff and vocals that plead for your attention. Good old solid rock, done well.


Post Death Soundtrack - You Can't Go Back.

Background bio - Post Death Soundtrack is a Canadian inter-city music collective consisting of Kenneth Buck, Steve Moore and Jon Ireson. Founded in Calgary in 2007 by Buck and Moore, the band now operates out of Vancouver, Calgary and Toronto using the magic of the internet to collaborate across the country. The group creates thought-provoking music by weaving together electronic, industrial, pop and rock sounds. Side-line.com calls their sound “indefinable" while Reflections of Darkness calls them "by no means music for simple minds”.

On September 16, 2008, founding members Buck and Moore released Post Death Soundtrack’s debut full length album Music as Weaponry. Taking influence from bands like Massive Attack and Skinny Puppy, ‘Music as Weaponry’ earned top reviews from publications such as Industrial.org, Side-line Magazine and Sphere Magazine who called the record "a chaotic concoction of crossover madness" adding "this is the soundtrack to your escape from the average". Their popular cover of Dead Can Dance's ‘Anywhere Out Of The World’ was met with praise overseas in Europe.

Also that year, the group recruited bassist and producer Jon Ireson with whom Buck and Moore had shared various stages with in previous incarnations. Jon, in turn brought on Colin Everall to help out on piano and drums. In 2010, Post Death Soundtrack released their single ‘Ultraviolence’ with accompanying video, directed by Jeevin Johal. Along with the release of new music (‘Little Alice’ and ‘Our Time Is Now’) and a series of remixes from Music as Weaponry, the band assembled for a rare live performance opening for industrial pioneers Front Line Assembly.

Now after a 3 year hiatus, Post Death Soundtrack is back with The Unlearning Curve. The latest 9 track collection is an eclectic narrative about dropping concepts, healing and venturing into the unknown. Equal parts Alice in Wonderland, J. Krishnamurti and dream language, The Unlearning Curve pulls as much from psych era Beatles and David Bowie as it does from modern industrial rock. The record was recorded at a number of studios, primarily in Vancouver. It was mastered at Suite Sound Labs, Vancouver and the album cover is an original painting by Toronto artist Kayla Aileen Brown. The album is available as a free download as well as in limited edition vinyl format.

The featured track 'You Can't Go Back' gives some feel of the depth and creativity from the new album (Release date: May 27, 2016). That said the album takes off in so many different and wonderful directions, it's hard to think where to begin to describe it. As an indicator think of an album that travels from psychedelic rock to trip hop, via electronic and other places and your headed somewhere in the right direction. Whatever the categories, it's got me hooked.