Showing posts with the label The Girl Folder

The Girl Folder - Ducktails - Quiet Hollers

The Girl Folder - Once More Into The Night. Background - Indie rock band ‘The Girl Folder’ have announced the release of their newest single Once More Into The Night, set to be released on 25th August 2017. Featuring melodic hooks and harmonic vocals the single encompasses the true sound of the band, as put by the band themselves “There’s melody in everything we do. It’s the only rule, well, unwritten rule that we have as a band. Anything goes as long as it works, but it has to be melodic.” The five-piece indie rock outfit formed after lead vocalist and singer-songwriter Matthew relocated to Newcastle from London. After performing at an open mic night weekly in order to meet like-minded musicians The Girl Folder was born a year later, comprising of Matthew (lead vox, acoustic/keys), Scott Clayborough (guitar/backing vox), Dave Evans (guitar/keys), Adam Gathercole (drums) and Dan Cordery (bass guitar). Inspired by the likes of Arcade Fire and Boy and Bear, their newest single o

Quality Not Quantity: Kristin Hersh - The Girl Folder - Finlay Leslie

Kristin Hersh - Bubble Net. Background - Ahead of the North American release of her new ‘Wyatt at the Coyote Palace’ CD/book combo, Kristin Hersh presents her track ‘Bubble Net’. “Just about everything is a wide open sea if you look closely enough or hover far enough over your landscape/soundscape, bruised and scraped… and when you feel trapped, you could try turning around and pushing at the edges, which turn out not to be solid after all,” explains Kristin Hersh. "I know nothing and songs know everything. Sad happens and sad isn't easy, but it's no less lovely for that. The refrain "there's no tomorrow" became a relief then: no need for fear. Maybe today is all we've got, but it's amazing." ‘Bubble Net’ follows up her first single ‘Soma Gone Slapstick’ and accompanying video, created by Orrin Anderson with photography by Orrin Anderson and Ryder James. ‘Wyatt at the Coyote Palace’ is the third release in the ground-breaking book-CD format th