A Trip With The Beatles - The Esher Demos

Also known as Acoustic Masterpieces, I am very pleased to be able to share the Esher demos from 1968.

These were recorded in late May 1968, at the home of George Harrison, and how is this for detail, his home was Kinfauns, a bungalow-style house, located at 16 Claremont Drive, Esher, Surrey, England, KT10 9LU, on the Claremont Estate, and only a short drive from the homes of John Lennon (Kenwood) and Ringo Starr (Sunny Heights).

Hmmm - I need to get out more...

These demo recordings would eventually develop, with a few exceptions, into 'The White Album'. (Seven of the actual demos also appear on The Beatles Anthology, Vol. 3).

They were made on George Harrison's Ampex four-track reel-to-reel tape recorder.

The songs are performed by John, George and Paul, recording some of the material, they had written during their time in India, along with other recent numbers.

Track listing as follows:

1. Back In The USSR
2. Blackbird
3. Child Of Nature (eventually Jealous Guy on Imagine).
4. Circles
5. Cry Baby Cry
6. Dear Prudence
7. Every body's Got Something To Hate
8. Honey Pie
9. I'm So Tired
10. Julia
11. Sour Milk Sea
12. Mother Nature's Son
13. Not Guilty
14. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
15. Piggies
16. Revolution
17. Rocky Raccoon
18. Sexy Sadie
19. Junk
20. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
21. What's The New Mary Jane
22. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
23. Yer Blues

Total duration: 67:18

These as far as I can establish, are all of the recordings, made at that time, and are sourced from an older boot (tape) of good quality. With the exception of those songs that made it on to 'Anthology 3', my understanding is that these, are as good as you can get.

If you have more songs, or better quality versions, please, please let me know!

Replacement link in comments below or click on the picture (11th January 2010).

Worth a thought? Considering these are (very nearly) forty year old demo tapes, never intended for more than an early run through, pre studio, a chance for the other band members to get a feel for the songs, why are we so interested? I guess whatever you may think of The Beatles, they certainly left their fans wanting more!

Check out Anthology Three HERE, along with other Beatles Cd's.

More Beatles material will follow in due course.


Beehive Candy said…
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said…
many thanks for re-posting. excited to hear this!
Hectron said…
hi man! i just found your blog, and found good stuff i was loking for, well i was about to tell you that i bought this cd in alocal store here(mexico city) and has its name of kinfaun session's, but also has 2last tracks that have a lot of song-chops from other songs that i havent listen in other beatles records or antholgys and else, songs like blowing in the wind o transcendental meditation, and others i do not know,, well im asking you if you are interested to listen them, in that case e mailme, thanks!!
Anonymous said…
Unfortunately this link is dead. Can you renew it? Thanks
Beehive Candy said…
REPLACEMENT LINK (11/01/2010):


Re-Uploaded By Beehive Candy Bloggers
hapajgv said…
Thanks for the re-up and the great site!!