The Ozark Mountain Daredevils - The Roxy 1975.

This is The Ozark Mountain Daredevils, live at The Roxy, Los Angeles, California, back on December 11th, 1975. This was the final gig from a three night residency at the venue and was broadcast on FM radio.

The Ozark Mountain Daredevils formed in 1972 in Springfield, Missouri, USA. They are most widely known for their singles "If You Wanna Get To Heaven" in 1974 and "Jackie Blue" in 1975.

The group's demo tape eventually caught the attention of A&M Records staff producer David Anderle, who was looking for an Eagles country rock type of band to place on the label. Anderle and the Eagles' first producer, Glyn Johns, flew to Missouri to catch one of the band's performances. But the band, nervous about Johns and Anderle being in the audience, did not play their best. Later on, Peterson invited the two men back to his place to hear the band give an unplugged performance by candlelight. This time Anderle and Johns were blown away and they were signed to A&M and sent to England to record their first record with Johns at the helm.

The first record, Ozark Mountain Daredevils (also referred to as "The Quilt Album"), was released in December 1973 and spawned the Top 30 hit "If You Wanna Get to Heaven" in the summer of 1974. The album introduced the band's unique mixture of rock, country, bluegrass and pop to the world and is still the favorite of many of the group's fans.

For the second album, It'll Shine When It Shines (October 1974), Johns and Anderle came to Missouri to record, utilizing a mobile recording truck set up outside of the band's rehearsal home. During the sessions, Johns overheard Larry Lee sitting at a piano playing and singing a song about a mysterious friend of his who sometimes dealt drugs on the side. Johns loved the melody and thought it could be a smash hit if the lyrics were altered to be about a girl and the drug references downplayed. Lee and Cash did as Johns asked and the song, "Jackie Blue," became the Daredevils' signature song and a huge hit (No. 3) in early 1975.

The Ozark's third release, The Car Over the Lake Album (Fall 1975), produced by Anderle alone, featured their old compatriot, Bill Jones, joining them to play and arrange their songs. He also toured with them in 1975-1976. A brand new live album by the Daredevils, a two-disc set featuring 21 tracks, including old favorites, rare songs and a couple of new ones, titled Alive & Wild, was made available in October 2011. This was taken from shows performed at Wildwood Springs Lodge in Steelville, Missouri in the fall of 2010.

Source: FM broadcast..

Sound Quality: Very good stereo mp3@224kbps.

Genre: Southern rock, country rock.

Set: Full set.

Set List:

1. Absolute Zero
2. Walkin’ Down The Road
3. Black Sky
4. Chicken Train
5. Noah
6. Road To Glory
7. Out On The Sea
8. Jackie Blue
9. E.E. Lawson
10. Better Days
11. If You Wanna Get To Heaven
12. 15 Chihuahuas
13. Time Warp
14. Look Away

Website: Official  HERE.

Download link in comments below.


Beehive Candy said…
The Ozarks were great; thanks