Jefferson Starship - Santa Cruz, 1992 (Internet Archive).

From the Internet Archive this is Jefferson Starship live at The Catalyst, Santa Cruz, USA, back on October 9th, 1992.  Prior to inclusion on the Internet Archive the recording circulated as a bootleg and was originally titled, "Hal's Death by Jefferson Starship #1," it included a phone message and an interview with Papa John and Gretchen Creech, which were removed to ensure there would be no conflict with anyone's permission policies.

In 1992, Kantner reestablished the group as "Jefferson Starship – The Next Generation," a nod to the television series Star Trek: The Next Generation. This version of the band would, at times, include various former Jefferson Airplane, Jefferson Starship and Starship members, to tour and perform.

After the first couple of years, the band dropped the use of "The Next Generation", and began to perform as Jefferson Starship. The revived band grew out of Paul Kantner’s decision, following the "Unplugged" trend, to hit the road in 1991 with an acoustic ensemble called Paul Kantner’s Wooden Ships, a trio that included Slick Aguilar and Tim Gorman from the KBC Band, a previous group centred on former Jefferson Airplane/Starship members.

The success of this project prompted Kantner to reinvent his electric band, and Jefferson Starship took off once again. In addition to Aguilar and Gorman, Kantner recruited former collaborators Jack Casady and blues violinist Papa John Creach; former Tubes drummer Prairie Prince; and former World Entertainment War vocalist Darby Gould.

Recording Details: Dsbd master > first-gen cassette > 24-bit Wav (WaveLab) > FLAC.

Sound Quality: Soundboard - very good.

Set List:

First set:

01. Other Side of this Life
02. Crown of Creation
03. I'm on Fire
04. Lawman
05. Shadowlands
06. First Pull Up, Then Pull Down
07. There Ain't No More Country Girls
08. Women Who Fly
09. Ride the Tiger
10. We Should Be Together

Second set:

01. Blows Against the Empire
02. Wooden Ships
03. PJ's Down Home Blues
04. Somewhere Over the Rainbow
05. Genesis Hall
06. Have You Seen the Saucers
07. Dark Ages
08. America > "Get Ready" poem
09. Volunteers
10. crowd
11. encore: Girl With the Hungry Eyes

Line Up: Paul Kantner, Darby Gould, Jack Casady, Papa John Creach, Mark "Slick" Aguilar, Tim Gorman, Charles "Prairie" Prince.

Comments: This recording is also available for streaming or download on the Internet Archive in the following formats - FLAC, MP3 and OGG VORBIS - HERE.

Band Official Website: HERE.

Stream Full Concert Below:


Unknown said…
Hi -- I'm the "Hal" that released five CDs in the series of Hal's Death by Jefferson Starship bootlegs.

My original "Death by JA bootlegs" can't be public as parts were released officially (but probably in bootlegs too, lol).

HOWEVER -- you have my permission to add my interview with Papa John Creach and the phone message that goes with it. I torrented the entire series on with the band's permission (along with an interview with Darby Gould -- hi, Darby!).