Showing posts from November 14, 2021

Nisa - Mike Legere - zzzahara - Red Leaf Hill - FERLA

Photo - Angela Ricciardi and Silken Weinberg Nisa - The Savior. New York City-based artist, Nisa, is now sharing "The Savior," the final advance single to be lifted from her new EP, Time To Plant Tears which is set for release on December 2, 2021. This new single follows recent tips from the likes of Consequence, Our Culture, Audiofemme and more with this body of work following on from her self-released debut EP, Guilt Trip which landed earlier this year. Early in 2021, the 22-year-old – full name Nisa Lumaj – began work on a new collection of songs that would make up the forthcoming EP, Time To Plant Tears. The title takes its name from the final stanza of an Elizabeth Bishop poem called Sestina. Working together with collaborator and producer, Ronnie Di Simone, the songs were recorded between Brooklyn's Studio G and the Brick Box studio. The new EP demonstrates Nisa's penchant for intimate storytelling cast against the backdrop of glistening, cinematic soundscapes

Annie Booth - Mrs. Henry - Big Little Lions - Kindsight - Prima Queen - SUEP

Photo - Brian Sweeney Annie Booth - Tropic / Cocoon. Annie Booth is an Edinburgh-based artist with a gift for mood-painting and storytelling. A seasoned singer, performer and songwriter - with a flair for the nostalgic and the melancholy - she wields a unique voice in Scotland, bridging genre and influence with ease. Her restless live performance and songs never cease to capture the listener with their haunting melodies and infectious arrangements. Recorded over several months at Chem19 Studios and Green Door, Booth’s sophomore album 'Lazybody' will be released on 19th November 2021 on limited edition vinyl, CD and download.  The debut single 'Cocoon' from the album has already received support from the likes of  The Roddy Hart Show, Vic Galloway & Rapal on BBC Radio Scotland, Postcards From The Underground, Shereen & Phoebe on BBC Music Introducing, Fresh On The Net and Amazing Afternoons on Amazing Radio. The singer-songwriter is also known for her enthusiasm

Royal Castles - KEG - Looms - Ziemba - Ashley Shadow (feat. Bonnie Prince Billy)

Royal Castles - Schönsee. Produced by Zane Whitfield (The Glorious Sons, Sarah Harmer), this triumphant 90s rock anthem sparkles and uplifts, as it reminds us of our resilience as humans, and that sunnier days are always around the corner. We dedicate it to all of our grandparents, who worked so hard to give us a better life. "Schönsee" means beautiful lake, named after the Russian-Mennonite colony in ode to drummer Katrin Sawatzky's ancestors, who made the Great Trek across Europe by caravan to escape religious persecution in WWII. Prominently featuring the voice and songwriting of Katrin, who sings in both German and English, this song builds upon the German lullaby often sung to Katrin as a child, telling the story of curiosity, resilience, fear and hope for a better life. "Schönsee" summons an inner feeling of safety and peace when the world around you feels chaotic. The feeling of triumph after tribulation. The elation of making it out alive. ==============

The Kut - Reptaliens - Roni Bar Hadas - Melted Wings - Abby Sage

The Kut - ANIMO. Rock solo artist The Kut (PhD) has announced a US distribution deal with Amplified (Alliance / AMPED / MNRK), for her hotly anticipated second album and released a brand new video single ANIMO. Meaning ‘courage’ or ‘spirit’, ANIMO and the accompanying music video were released yesterday and funded by Arts Council England. Dubbed by NYC Takeover as ‘the revolution waiting to erupt’ the latest Kut single is fierce; pepper sprayed with haunting melodies, driving beats and unapologetically packed with grrrl power. Written in support of recent women’s rights demonstrations in the UK, the single is the first of a series of releases, leading up to The Kut second album, due June 2022. The forthcoming album features all seven members of her collective of women in music, with the ANIMO single featuring Diana Bartmann (drums), Jennifer Sanin (bass/vocals) and Alison Wood (guitar/bass) performing alongside The Kut. The Kut’s debut album ‘Valley of Thorns’ was produced by James Le

Favours - Parliamo - The Vaulted Skies - Black Pines

Favours - Escaping. Favours is made up of Jacq Andrade, Alexander Zen and Mark Andrade. They released their first LP Made to Wait in 2020. Their song “Stowaway” was featured on Netflix and CBC Gem. Recently, Favours built a home recording studio in a former halfway house in Mimico. The studio serves as a practice space and home to Alex, as well as their central creative hub for all music videos and photography projects. Favours’ EP, Left Behind, was released November 12th 2021 and it features a fresh dream pop, new wave sound inspired by their shared love of the 80’s new wave sound and a DIY post-punk feel. The band collaborated with a strong team for this upcoming EP.  They enlisted the talents of Broken Social Scene’s Brendan Canning to play bass on the EP, the engineering chops of Tallies’ Dylan Franklin, who engineered the drums and bass, and the mixing prowess of Alexandre Bonenfont. Previous singles have been featured on NPR, David Dean Burkhart and charted #1 on Canadian College