Earth Girl Helen Brown - The Stevens - People Like You

Earth Girl Helen Brown - Flower Of Darkness.

Background - "Flower Of Darkness" is the new single from Earth Girl Helen Brown. The track will be featured on her forthcoming EP entitled 'Mars' out July 21st on Empty Cellar Records. 'Mars' follows EGHB's recently released EP 'Mercury'.

Empty Cellar Records and the Earth Girl Helen Brown Center for Planetary Intelligence Band are pleased to announce the summer instalment of the E.G.H.B.C.P.F.I.B. 2017 seasonal series, MARS. 

Featuring Heidi Alexander, Tahlia Harbour, Sonny Smith, James Finch Jr., Jamin Barton, Tim Presley, John Dwyer, Jack Name, Dave Siteck, Ty Segall, Dylan Hadley and Mikal Cronin. MARS marks a change in style and content and is concerned with the persistent topic of war. 

Available from Empty Cellar Records on limited edition 100% post-consumer recycled cassette tape 7/21, all proceeds benefit organisations committed to the cessation of violent conflict, the promotion of peace, and the dissolution of the military industrial complex. Website here.

'Flower Of Darkness' is a likable and perhaps, tiny bit quirky pop song. Whatever the description this has hooks that dig deep, making a few more plays irresistible.


The Stevens - (Two Tracks) Chancer + Pulling All The Facts Together.

Background - Australian indie-pop group The Stevens (feat. members of Twerps) are back with their sophomore album 'Good' out July 14 via Chapter Music. ood picks up where their 2014 debut A History Of Hygiene left off - 18 short songs, alternately frenetic or laconic, packed with twists and hooks that merge lo-fi outsider songcraft with 70s prog wizardry and classic rock swagger.

The Stevens formed in 2011 around guitarists Alex Macfarlane (Twerps, Tyrannamen) and New Zealand-born Travis MacDonald, and were soon joined by bassist Gus Lord (Twerps, Boomgates, Tyrannamen) and drummer Matt Harkin. In 2012, Chapter Music re-issued the band’s self-released debut EP, six insanely catchy guitar pop songs in 13 minutes. Then in late 2014 Chapter released A History Of Hygiene. The album was written up by the likes of Pitchfork and The Guardian, reviewed by Austin Brown of Parquet Courts for Talkhouse, and played on BBC6.

The Stevens toured the US in 2015, playing Memphis’ legendary Gonerfest on the back of killer single "Thirsty Eye" (included as the final track on Good) and getting to support their hero R Stevie Moore. In Australia they have played with Wire, Parquet Courts, Real Estate and more.

The Stevens recorded Good in their own Melbourne bedrooms/jam rooms throughout 2016, and once again employed the services of New Zealand mastering engineer Tex Houston, veteran of a thousand Flying Nun releases, to give it a fuzzy polish. The tasteful sleeve is painted by the band’s own Travis MacDonald.

Alex and Gus from The Stevens have spent the last couple of years as the newest members of Twerps, with Alex drumming on their 2015 album Range Anxiety, and Gus joining on bass a short time later. Bandcamp here.

Two songs to share from today's album release from The Stevens, and we have 'Chancer' and 'Pulling All The Facts Together'. Putting together the two tracks helps show the diversity of sounds and styles on the new album, where indie pop and other shades of rock can be found.


People Like You - Thumbnail.

Background - People Like You are set to release their sophomore album entitled Verse on July 28 via Topshelf Records. "'Thumbnail' is about being in a long-distance relationship," explains guitarist/vocalist Chris Lee-Rodriguez. "I used to say to my partner at the time that if you look far back enough you could measure the distance between each other with your thumbnail. No matter how hard it got, that  would always help me get through it."​

The five-piece Boston-based band, People Like You, formed in 2014 from the short-lived emo/math punk band, I Kill Giants, which included guitarist/vocalist Chris Lee-Rodriguez and drummer Sander Bryce. After the release of their first record, This is what you learned. on Broken World Media, People Like You expanded to include longtime collaborator and trumpet player Matt Hull, as well as vocalist/pianist Michi Tassey, and Animal Flag’s Sai Boddupalli on bass.

After several years of making a name for themselves in the small DIY house show circuit in the Northeast, the indie jazz outfit will release their sophomore album, Verse on Topshelf Records. Incorporating improvisation, classical guitar, breakbeats, a punk ethos, literary references, and beautiful pop melodies, People Like You has developed a sound that they can truly call their own. Verse will be released on July 28th, 2017. Facebook here.

One of my favourites so far this month is 'Thumbnail' a stylish, and impressive song, where the musicianship is high calibre and the vocals beautifully matched. Add in the catchy nature of this track and it's timeless feel, and for me People Like You are on for a real winner.