Jerry Lee Lewis - London 1981

This is Jerry Lee Lewis and the Memphis Beat with special guest Carl Perkins recorded live at the Wembley Arena, London, on Friday 17th April 1981.

In the 1960s, Lewis's attempts at a comeback as a rock and roll performer had stalled during four years with Smash Records until he began recording country ballads. He had already recorded a country-oriented LP for the label Country Songs for City Folks. In 1968, his single "Another Place, Another Time" became a Top 10 success and led to a string of Top Ten singles including the 1968 number-one country single "To Make Love Sweeter For You" that brought Lewis renewed stardom among country music fans, much like that which ex-rockabilly Conway Twitty began to cultivate during that same time. His shift to country reflected the fact that he had grown up listening to the Grand Ole Opry. Jerry Lee Lewis's country hits during this period include "What's Made Milwaukee Famous (Has Made a Loser Out of Me)", "She Still Comes Around (To Love What's Left of Me)", "She Even Woke Me Up to Say Goodbye", "Once More With Feeling", "There Must Be More to Love Than This", "Touching Home", "Would You Take Another Chance on Me", "Me & Bobby McGee", "Think About It, Darlin'", "Sometimes a Memory Ain't Enough", and "Tell Tale Signs". Lewis's singles and albums were issued on Mercury records instead of Smash from 1970 on.

Jerry Lee Lewis's renewed popularity encouraged Sun International Inc. to issue previously unpublished recordings dating from 1963 including "Invitation to Your Party", "One Minute Past Eternity", "I Can't Seem To Say Goodbye" and "Waiting For A Train" on singles that also did well on the country music charts in 1969/70. Lewis's successes continued throughout the decade and he eventually began to re-emphasize his rock and roll past with hits like his 1972 revival of The Big Bopper's rock classic "Chantilly Lace" and "Drinkin' Wine Spo dee-o dee" as well as looking at middle age with the 1977 "Middle Age Crazy". In 1979, he signed with Elektra Records and had his last major country hit with 1981's "Thirty-Nine and Holding." The song was featured in this concert recording along with a number of 'The Killers' classics.

Source: FM Radio broadcast.

Sound Quality: Very good stereo mp3@192kbps

Genre: Rock and roll, country, rockabilly.

Set: Full set.

Set List:

01. I Got a Women (band)
02. Ain't Livin Long Like This (band)
03. Keep My Motor Running 2:24
04. Middle Age Crazy 3:17
05. What I'd Say 4:37
06. Over The Rainbow 4:42
07. Folsom Prison Blues 4:55
08. High School Confidential 2:13
09. Thirty Nine and Holding 3:25
10. Great Ball Of Fire 1:44
11. Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On 5:01
12. Medley with Carl Perkins - Matchbox 4:23
13. Whole Lotta Shakin' 0:14 Blue Suede Shoes 1:50

Website: Official Jerry Lee Lewis HERE.

Download link in comments below.


Beehive Candy said…