Neil Young - Colmar, France 2008

This is Neil Young live in concert at  Le Theatre de Plein Air, Colmar, France, back on Friday. August 15th, 2008.

This recording was circulated on a two silver disc CD bootleg entitled 'Big Moon Over Colmar' and released by bootleggers Crystal Cat Records (915-16).

The sound quality is superb and would pass for soundboard however, the audience noise between songs does suggest that the recording includes audience based microphones. Whatever the case this captures a really incredible gig with the inclusion of some remarkable songs from Neil Young's musical career.

In recent years Neil Young's work rate has not diminished as the following from All Music reminds us - In early 2005, Young was diagnosed with a potentially deadly brain aneurysm. Undergoing treatment didn't slow him down, however, as he continued to write and record his next project. The acoustically based Prairie Wind appeared in the fall, with the concert film Heart of Gold, based around the album and directed by Jonathan Demme, released in 2006. That year also saw the release of the controversial CD/DVD Living with War, a collection of protest songs against the war in Iraq that featured titles such as "Let's Impeach the President," "Shock and Awe," and "Lookin' for a Leader." Restless, prolific, and increasingly self-referential, Young issued Chrome Dreams II late in 2007 and the car-themed Fork in the Road in 2009. Later in 2009, Young finally released the first installment in his long-rumored Archives series, Archives, Vol. 1, a massive first volume that combined over ten CD and DVD discs in a single box. As he was prepping Archives, Vol. 2, Young entered the studio with producer Daniel Lanois and recorded Le Noise, which appeared in the fall of 2010. Young continued going through his archives with the release of A Treasure in 2011, a single-disc set of live tracks recorded during his 1984-1985 tour with the International Harvesters that featured five previously unreleased Young songs mixed in with older songs like "Flying on the Ground Is Wrong" and "Are You Ready for the Country?," all done in the classic Harvest style.

Source: Soundboard and/or audience matrix.

Sound Quality: Very good stereo mp3@192kbps.

Genre: Rock, folk rock, country rock, experimental rock, hard rock

Set: Full set.

Set List:

CD One:
01 Intro
02 Love And Only Love
03 Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
04 Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
05 Powderfinger
06 Spirit Road
07 Cortez The Killer
08 Cinnamon Girl
09 Oh Lonesome Me
10 Mother Earth
11 The Needle And The Damage Done

CD Two:

01 Unknown Legend
02 Wrecking Ball
03 Heart Of Gold
04 Old Man
05 Just Singing A Song
06 Sea Change
07 Sea Change
08 Cowgirl In The Sand
09 Rockin' In The Free World
10 A Day In The Life
11 Words

Website: Official HERE.

Audio download links (two) in comments below.


Beehive Candy said…
Download links (two):

CD One:

CD Two:
Mich said…
thank you. I was there and it was my birthday. amazing !
Anonymous said…
Many thanks :))