Nicolette Larson - Strawberry Music Festival 1986.

This is a recording of Nicolette Larson performing at the Strawberry Music Festival, Camp Mather, Yosemite, CA, USA back on August 29th, 1986.

Nicolette Larson is perhaps best known for her work in the late 1970s with Neil Young, as well as her 1978 cover of Young's "Lotta Love". The song, her debut single, was a Number One Hot Adult Contemporary Tracks hit and number 8 pop hit that year. It was followed by four more Adult Contemporary hits, two of which were also minor pop hits. Nicolette's work with Emmylou Harris on the album Luxury Liner (1977) prominently showcased her on the cut "Hello Stranger" and led to her meeting Harris' associate and friend Linda Ronstadt who became friends with Nicolette. In the spring of 1977 Nicolette was at Ronstadt's Malibu home when neighbor Neil Young phoned to ask Ronstadt if she could recommend a female vocal accompanist, and Ronstadt suggested Larson, becoming the fifth person that day to put Larson's name forward to Young. Young came over to meet Larson who recalled: "Neil ran down all the songs he had just written, about twenty of them. We sang harmonies with him and he was jazzed."

The following week Ronstadt and Larson cut their vocals for Young's American Stars 'n Bars album at Young's La Honda ranch — the two women were billed on the album as the Saddlebags. In November 1977 Young invited
Nicolette to Nashville to sing on the sessions for his Comes a Time album, an assignment which led to Nicolette's being signed to Warner Brothers, an affiliate of Young's home label Reprise. Nicolette continued her session singing career into 1978 accruing credit on recordings by Marcia Ball, Rodney Crowell, Emmylou Harris' (Quarter Moon in a Ten Cent Town) and Norton Buffalo. Nicolette also contributed vocals to the Doobie Brothers' Minute by Minute whose producer Ted Templeman would be responsible for Larson's debut album Nicolette. 

By 1985, she shifted her focus to country music, charting six times on the Hot Country Singles (now Hot Country Songs) charts. Her only Top 40 country hit was "That's How You Know When Love's Right", a duet with Steve Wariner. She sadly died in 1997 at just 45 years of age.

Source: FM Broadcast.

Sound Quality: Very good stereo mp3@192kbps.

Genre: Rock, Country, Pop, Lullaby.

Set: Full set.

Set List:

01. The Angels Rejoiced
02. Comes A Time
03. Only Love Can Make It Right
04. Mexican Divorce
05. Sometimes You Just Can’t Win
06. That’s How You Know Love’s Right
07. Blow On Chilly Wind
08. If I Didn’t Love You
09. Untitled
10. Keep Us Apart
11. When You Get A Little Lonely
12. Ain’t Livin’ Long Like This
13. MC banter & crowd
14. Pink Cadillac
15. MC banter
Website: Tribute HERE.

Download link in comments below.


Beehive Candy said…
Anonymous said…
Thank you for this wonderful recording.