Tom Tom Club - Stella Blue 2001 (Internet Archive)

From the Internet Archive this is this Tom Tom Club live at Stella Blue, in Asheville, NC, USA. The band undertook a US tour in the fall (autumn for us Brits) of 2001, this concert was on the 25th September. Describing that tour their timeline states - 'The group tooled the East Coast from Maine to Florida, searching out the hip and the compassionate. They were not disappointed'.

The tour was partly in support of the group's album, 'The Good, the Bad, and the Funky', which was released in 2000 and featured cover versions of Donna Summer's "Love to Love You Baby" and Lee "Scratch" Perry's "Soul Fire." One of the album's tracks, "Who Feelin' It," was also featured in remixed form in the soundtrack album of the 1999 film American Psycho. Among the musicians on The Good, the Bad, and the Funky are Jamaican singer Mystic Bowie, Charles Pettigrew and Toots Hebbert of Toots and the Maytals. The album's release was followed by one European and several American tours, of which this gig is sourced from.

Recording Technical Details: AKG C1000s (hypercardioid) > Denecke AD-20 > Sony TCD-D8 Lineage D8 > Midiman CO2 > Zoltrix Nightengale > CD Wave v1.43 > Soundforge XP 4.0 (fades) > mkwACT v0.97 > xACT 1.4b28 (shn > flac encoding level 6, batch rename, shntool len).

Sound Quality: Very Good - a very strong, powerful and clean recording reflecting the bands live talent.

Set List:

1. Suboceana
2. Time to Bounce
3. Punk Lolita
4. Soul Fire
5. Who Feelin' It
6. Happiness Can't Buy Money
7. Sand
8. She's Dangerous
9. The Man With the 4-Way Hips
10. Genius of Love
11. Band Intros > You Sexy Thing
12. Holy Water
13. Wordy Rappinghood (plus encore break)
14. As Above, So Below
15. 96 Tears > Take Me to the River

Website: Official Here.

Comments: There are FLAC, Ogg Vorbis and mp3 files along with the streaming material over at the Internet Archive (here).

Stream Below: