Paul McCartney - Liverpool 1st June 2008

This one could well be on a couple of Beatles fans music blogs already, but having listened, it is well worth sharing here on Beehive Candy.

Paul McCartney performed live in Liverpool
on Sunday (1st June 2008), as part of Liverpool's 'year of culture' events.

The Liverpool 08 website summed up the concert as follows:

'Anfield football ground witnessed one of the greatest nights in its history on 1 June 2008 - with a stunning concert by Sir Paul McCartney to celebrate the city's year as European Capital of Culture.

Brilliantly supported by The Kaiser Chiefs and The Zutons, the ex-Beatle - who last played in Liverpool exactly five years ago - gave a magical show with a blockbuster set of hits from his Fab Four, Wings and solo career that had the sold-out stadium on its feet for a full two hours.

With touching tributes to George Harrison - on 'Blackbird' and 'Something' - and Linda, mingled with raucous renditions of 'Hey Jude' and 'Live and Let Die' the audience knew they were witnessing McCartney at the very top of his game.

Special guest Dave Grohl - of the Foo Fighters - joined on drums and vocals to take the show into rock 'n roll overdrive which, after an encore that memorably featured 'A Day in the Life' and Lennon's anthemic 'Give Peace a Chance', sadly but spectacularly ended with an amazing firework display'.

OK no firework display here, but the concert was broadcast on BBC Radio Merseyside, from which this copy comes.

Set list is:

1. Hippy, Hippy Shake
2. Jet
3. Drive My Car
4. Flaming Pie
5. Got To Get You Into My Life
6. Let Me Roll It
7. My Love
8. C' Moon
9. Long And Winding Road
10. Dance Tonight
11. Blackbird
12. Calico Skies
13. In Liverpool
14. Follow The Sun
15. Eleanor Rigby
16. Something
17. Penny Lane
18. Band On The Run (with Dave Grohl on guitar)
19. Back In The USSR (with Dave Grohl on drums)
20. Live And Let Die
21. Let It Be
22. Hey Jude
23. Yesterday
24. A Day In The Life - Give Peace A Chance
25. Lady Madonna
26. I Saw Her Standing There (with Dave Grohl on drums)
Sound quality is very good FM mono.

Reloaded - 03/June/2013 - download link in comments.

Some good photo's on Paul McCartney's official site HERE.


Nazz Nomad said…
that paul mccartney sure has some good songs.
The Knitter said…
Downloaded no problem.

a Magic Collection of songs. Thanks.

Thumbs up!
Beehive Candy said…
Download Link:

Password: bigreup15-054#

Reloaded - 03/June/2015

Beehive Candy