Gently Does It: Joseph Sant - Glass Face

Joseph Sant - Nor'easter.

Background promo - Joseph Sant is a musician living in Brooklyn, NY, hailing originally from Seattle, WA. He deals in lush, green, mountainous musical textures hewn out of his Pacific Northwest. He composes with angular shapes, the noise of subway brakes, off-kilter grids, and the encroaching sea.

His debut, Sea White Salt, is influenced by New York’s coasts, imperilled as they are by climate change, reshaped in an instant by catastrophic storms, and prey to wolfish markets. These songs explore the connections and analogies between forces of nature, impassable social barriers, and the gravity of all-consuming love and persistent dreams.

For Sea White Salt, Joseph collaborated with his good friend and producer Gabriel Galvin, erstwhile proprietor of Four Foot Studios in South Williamsburg, Brooklyn. They recorded Sea White Salt in a few overnight marathon sessions in the dead of winter, just before Four Foot Studios was evicted, casualty to the overheated real estate market synonymous with that neighbourhood. Fellow Brooklyn artist Stirling Krusing plays lap steel on the album. Long-time collaborator Tyler Graham plays drums. These artists, together with bassist Georgia Tan, form the five-piece band that now plays under Joseph Sant’s moniker. Release date: January 14, 2016.

'Nor'easter' is the third of four tracks on the forthcoming EP. There's a relaxed pace to the EP, the featured track is fairly typical of the style, however expect gentler offerings as well. The whole thing is a solid piece, great vocals and musicianship, and really good production, make this a pleasing collection, of rather classy songs.


Glass Face - Roses.

Background promo - Glass Face recently released their debut EP, ‘You Are Nowhere’. A dream pop group based out of London, Ontario in Canada, Glass Face's members include Amelia Fraser on vocals, Cole Sefton on guitar, Dylan King on synths, and Rowan Grice on drums.

Fresh on the heels of their ‘Hotline Bling’ cover, which was featured on Spotify’s "Chill Covers" playlist, ‘You Are Nowhere’ marks the first official release from the band, composed of five original self-penned and self-produced tracks. The band describes the EP as an amalgamation - a cage match between folk, post-rock, and electronica. It’s twenty minutes of discovery: an exploration into the sound of four young Canadians who all bring distinct influence to a project which they foster with an evolving sense of direction.

‘You Are Nowhere’ features Glass Face’s debut single ‘Holland’, which received a high profile placement on MTV’s Teen Wolf and made the band one of the most Shazamed artists of the week. ‘Roses’, the second (and current) single lifted from the EP, is a mesmerizing atmospheric pop song with heartfelt vocals and a huge orchestral arrangement, which has already succeeded the bands cover of ‘Hotline Bling’ on Spotify’s official “New Music Friday” playlist. ‘Underkept’ is a two-part journey that takes the listener from a vocal-ridden dreamscape head first into an instrumental wall of pure sound and energy. Finally, the EP’s last track, ‘Wild Wood’, shows a softer side to the band, driven forward only by a grand piano and Fraser’s raw and powerful vocals.

A six track EP if you include the one minute 'Outro', it starts with the featured song 'Roses'. The band deliver a distinct and atmospheric sound, however what really makes them stand out is the song writing and the genre spanning musical interpretation. From dream pop to shoegaze via indie folk, Glass Face are not afraid to experiment, and importantly, they do it very well.