Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings - KCRW 2010

This is Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings live on Morning Becomes Eclectic, at the KCRW Studios, Santa Monica, CA back on the 28th June 2010. We feature the video version just below (just click on the video play button, that seems to be only partially visible in some browsers).

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings are a funk/soul band. They are signed to Daptone Records, where the Dap-Kings are the house band. They are spearheads of a revivalist movement that aims to capture the essence of funk/soul music as it was at its height in the mid-1960s to mid-1970s. Part of the way this is achieved is to shun modern digital recording methods in favour of using traditional analogue recording equipment. The type of instruments used by the band may also be considered limited to those that would have been available up until the mid-'70s.

Beyond working with Sharon Jones (who remains their key focus - just check out this recording and you will see why!), The Dap-Kings have been hired as session musicians on a number of projects associated with New York based DJ/producer/recording artist Mark Ronson. Most notable of these is their extensive inclusion and somewhat unheralded contribution to Amy Winehouse's album Back to Black (2006). Six of the album's eleven tracks feature various members of the Dap-Kings with two notable hits from the album, "Rehab" and "You Know I'm No Good", extensively featuring the Dap-Kings. A further engineering credit goes to Gabriel Roth and several tracks recorded at Daptone Studios are mis-credited as "Dapking Studios". Again various members of the band feature on Ronson's second album, Version (2007), providing contributions on all but one of the album's fourteen tracks. The Dap-Kings then became the backing band used on Amy Winehouse's first U.S. tour.

Source (audio): FM broadcast.

Sound Quality: Very good stereo mp3@320kbps.

Genre: Funk, Soul, R&B.

Set: Full set.

Set List:

01 - Intro
02 - If You Call
03 - She Ain't A Child No More
04 - Give It Back
05 - Interview
06 - Window Shopping
07 - I Learned The Hard Way
08 - Mama Don't Like My Man
09 - Dead Air
10 - Better Things
11 - Banter
12 - Money 

Website: Official Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings HERE. KCRW HERE.

Audio download link in comments below.


Beehive Candy said…

(just copy and paste the above link in your web browser to go to the file download site!).
Anonymous said…
bad link.....
Unknown said…
link works fine..thanks for sharing this soul sister