Showing posts from May 1, 2022

Caleb Kunle - O - SHiN - Izzy S.O - Alas The Sun - The Storm Petrels

Photo - Andy Banjanin Caleb Kunle - All in your head. Nigerian-Irish artist Caleb Kunle has released the new single "All In Your Head". Out now via Hackney label Pony Recordings (Tempesst, Sunglasses For Jaws), Caleb also today announces a new London headline show at Bermondsey Social Club on 8th June. "All In Your Head" follows his 2021 single "Could Be Good" and teases the release of a new EP due for release later this year. Produced by London production duo Sunglasses For Jaws (known for their work with Sinead O'Brien, Miles Kane, Nick Waterhouse, Yak + more) and mixed by Elliot Heinrich (Little Simz, POND, Metronomy), "All In Your Head" unites folk-inflected soul with psych-tinged production flourishes, bringing forth a swell of sky-reaching horns and swirling strings as Caleb examines the pursuit of authenticity in his art. Speaking on the release of "All In Your Head", Caleb said, "It's an anthem about facing doubt.

Elf Power - Haley Johnsen - The BB House Band - Pixie Moonshine - Me Rex - Courtney Cotter King

Elf Power - Artificial Countrysides. GA-based psychedelic folk band Elf Power released the official video for the title track to their forthcoming album Artificial Countrysides that will be released on July 15 via Yep Roc Records. The video was directed and filmed by Dickie Cox. The band will kick off their summer tour on July 13 in Milwaukee, WI  and will make stops in Philadelphia, New York, Atlanta and more. Find a full list of tour dates below or at “The title track lyrically addresses the songwriting process, and the creation of miniature worlds within songs, propelled by a frantically fingerpicked acoustic guitar line that imagines what acoustic guitar virtuoso John Fahey might sound like if he played with a rock band,” explains singer and multi-instrumentalist Andrew Rieger. The new song followers the release of the official video for “Undigested Parts” and “The Gas Inside The Tank,” which was covered by Stereogum, Under The Radar and BrooklynVegan, who said “It f

Blunt Chunks - The Best Around - Fransis - Cola

Blunt Chunks - Part Of Me. The Toronto-based project, Blunt Chunks, helmed by Caitlin Woelfle-O'Brien (Jaunt) has just shared "Part of Me" (which features Brendan Canning of Broken Social Scene), the latest to be lifted from the forthcoming debut EP, Blunt Chunks which is set for release this Friday, May 6 via Telephone Explosion Records. Featuring Scott Hardware and members of The Weather Station, Luna Li, Hooded Fang and more, the new EP, which has found tips so far from Paste, FLOOD, Brooklyn Vegan, KCRW, Exclaim, CBC Radio and more, grapples with the many functions of heartache, using music as a mechanism to memorialize the past and the first step to breaking a cycle of self-neglect. Produced by David Plowman (The OBGMs, Islands) and Nathan Burley (Young Clancy), the EP harnesses a weightless style of guitar-driven pop where Woelfle-O’Brien blends spacious psychedelic country with the unignorable churn of 90s alternative rock. The result is a record deeply uncomforta

Fresh - Emily Jean Flack

Fresh - Going To Bed. London DIY punks Fresh have shared another track from their forthcoming new album, ‘Raise Hell’, out 1st July on Specialist Subject. New song 'Going to Bed’ acknowledges the uncertainty and tension of nursing a small crush but going ahead despite the fear and embracing all those ‘I don’t knows’. “There’s a focus on self-love too, taking typical therapy clichés and self-soothing activities (trust myself more/light a candle etc) made into eerie, sacred rituals and manifesting your own safe space” says lead singer Kathryn Woods. Fresh have been an unwavering fixture within the UK punk scene since their first record in 2017. A joy to behold live, Woods honed her craft not only fronting Fresh but as a member of several heralded indie and punk bands, including cheerbleederz and ME REX alongside Fresh bandmate Myles McCabe. Their new album radiates with their signature mischievous British charm and flourishes of brilliant pop punk flair – though underestimate Fresh

Mall Girl - Dana Gavanski - Autumn Hollow

Mall Girl - Close My Eyes (Live at Studio Paradiso). Norwegian math pop four-piece Mall Girl have released their debut album Superstar via Jansen Records. To mark the release, the band has shared a brand new live video for album track 'Close My Eyes', recorded at Studio Paradiso in Oslo where they recorded the album. Superstar represents an exciting new chapter for the buzzed-about band. The release follows a string of successful singles, including album tracks ‘Bachtap’ & ‘Bubbly Cool Drink’, which introduced them as an act to watch in the alt-pop arena. Members Iver Armand Tandsether, Hannah Veslemøy Narvesen, Eskild Myrvoll and Bethany Forseth-Reichberg were forced to get creative when the pandemic hit, sidelining best-laid plans to flesh out some songs before heading into the studio together. "Because of COVID regulations and the four of us living in two different cities, we changed the way we worked with the songs quite radically in the months leading up to the st